AAD2018 Feature Image2

2018 Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Yacht Club 25 October

View Dinner Photos

What a night!  Thursday 25 October we celebrated the accomplishments of three most esteemed recipients at our 2018 Annual Awards Dinner.

Dr. Timothy J. Runyan
received the NMHS David A. O’Neil Sheet Anchor Award in recognition of his vision and unwavering dedication as a professor and mentor, for his successful advocacy efforts to obtain federal funding for our maritime heritage, and for his leadership as chairman of the National Maritime Alliance, which brings the community together at the triennial Maritime Heritage Conferences. As a trustee of NMHS, he serves as chairman of the NMHS Advocacy Committee, is chair of the Editorial Advisory Board for Sea History, and has served as co-chair of the annual National Maritime Awards Dinner in Washington, contributing to a more vital, creative and influential Society.  Dr. Raymond E. Ashley, president and CEO of the Maritime Museum of San Diego, presented the award.

Sea Education Association (SEA) received the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Maritime Education in recognition of SEA’s leadership as a field-based environmental education-at-sea program, having taught over 8,000 students from more than 300 colleges maritime policy, history and literature, ship navigation, and oceanography. SEA nurtures scholars and leaders to both appreciate the ocean and tackle the issues impacting it. Christopher J. Culver, rear commodore of the New York Yacht Club, presented the award to SEA president Capt. Peg Brandon.

VADM Peter H. Daly, USN (Ret.) received the NMHS Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his inspirational leadership of the US Naval Institute, and for broadening the outreach of Proceedings magazine, advancing the professional, literary, and scientific understanding of sea power and other issues critical to national defense. Drawing on skills and lessons from America’s history and a naval career spanning more than thirty years, he promotes an informed and professional dialogue.  George W. Carmany III, NMHS dinner chairman, presented the award.

We owe great thanks to dinner chairman George W. Carmany III, vice chairman Christopher J. Culver,  and Ronald L. Oswald, National Maritime Historical Society Chairman of the Board, for their passion and leadership. Richard T. du Moulin, award-winning yachtsman, was our ever-entertaining and unflappable master of ceremonies. America’s Cup winner Gary Jobson presented a riveting short video on yacht racing.  Richardo and Alessandro Lopes awed the audience again this year with their video introductions of the honorees.  Dr. Raymond Ashley, Christopher Culver and George Carmany III presented the awards to the honorees, and gave us new insight into their contributions to the maritime heritage.  Dr. Timothy Runyan, Captain Peg Brandon and VADM Peter Daly, USN (Ret.) inspired a room of maritime enthusiasts with their acceptance remarks.  Rachael White of Christie’s Auction House helped the Society raise funds through its live auction and “Light up the Library” educational initiative.  And at the end of the night, the US Coast Guard Academy Cadet Chorale, led by Dr. Robert G. Newton, serenaded revelers with what may have been their best performance yet.

Thank you to all those who supported this year’s annual dinner by joining us, sponsoring the dinner, making a contribution, participating in our live and silent auctions, and donating goods and services.  We owe our sincerest gratitude!

We are especially grateful to our:

Fleet Sponsor: Howard Slotnick

Commodore Sponsors:
Peter and Erika Aron
Walter R. Brown
Caddell Dry Dock and Repair Co., Inc.
George W. Carmany III
Christopher J. Culver
Ronald L. Oswald
Marjorie B. Shorrock
William H. White

Dinner Journal Sponsor:
The Artina Group Inc.

Take Home Favor Sponsors:
Huntington Ingalls
Mighty Bright / Gold Crest LLC
Star Kay White, Inc.

Table Hosts:
VADM Peter H. Daly, USN (Ret.)
Richard T. du Moulin
McAllister Towing and Transportation Co., Inc.
Dr. Timothy J. Runyan
Sea Education Association
SEA Semester Alumni and Friends
US Naval Institute

Individual Sponsors:
ARS Investment Partners
Gerry and Elizabeth Byrne
RADM Joseph E. Callo, USN (Ret.)
William J. Green
Capt. Howard R. Hill Jr.
RDML Eric C. Jones, USCG
Norman and Sandra Liss
CAPT Sally McElwreath, USN (Ret.)
CAPT James A. Noone, USN (Ret.)
Mr. & Mrs. Russell S. Reynolds, Jr.
Richard Scarano
Philip J. Shapiro
H.C. Bowen Smith
Irmy and Philip J. Webster
Michael M. Wiseman, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
CAPT Channing M. Zucker, USN (Ret.)

Carroll Brooks
RADM David C. Brown, USMS (Ret.)
James L. Helms
John Lockwood
Vance H. Morrison
Capt. Lada Simek
Joseph W. Zarzynski