AAD2018 Feature Image2

2019 Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Yacht Club 24 October 2019

Online Registration Sponsorship Menu


 The National Maritime Historical Society and Dinner Chairman Christopher J. Culver
invite you to join us at the 2019 Annual Awards Dinner
as we honor four distinguished individuals:

Pam Rorke Levy & Matt Brooks
James Ding Schoonmaker
Jean Wort

with award presentations by 
Richard T. du Moulin • Christopher J. Culver • Gary Jobson

New York Yacht Club • 37 W 44th Street • New York, NY 10036
Reception at 6:00 PM • Dinner at 7:00 PM
Black Tie Optional • Military: Dinner Dress Blue

We invite your participation in this gala event!

The National Maritime Historical Society is honored to recognize four most esteemed recipients at our 2019 Annual Awards Dinner. We invite your sponsorship support for the event.

Pam Rorke Levy and her husband Matt Brooks will receive the 2019 NMHS Distinguished Service Award for restoring to sail again the historic Olin Stephens designed yacht Dorade and the 1964-built motor cruiser Serena, a beautiful 74’ Feadship designed by Carlo Riva. Dorade was one of the earliest ever produced by Sparkman & Stephens. Built in 1930 at the Minneford Yacht Yard in City Island, New York, Dorade claimed victories in the Newport-Bermuda, Fastnet, and Transatlantic races in the 1930s, and she returned to racing today, holding her own in the field. The motor cruiser Serena was built in the Netherlands by the De Vries Brothers, the fourth boat of the Caravelle series. Mr. Brooks is a trustee of the Asian Arts Museum and president of the International Six Meter Association. Ms. Levy is a board member of the Asian Arts Museum.  Richard T. du Moulin, NMHS Overseer and Master of Ceremonies and Christopher J. Culver, NMHS Trustee and Dinner Chairman will present the award to Ms. Levy and Mr. Brooks.

James Ding Schoonmaker will receive the 2019 NMHS Distinguished Service Award for his work in supporting the introduction of young people and individuals from emerging countries to the sports of sailing and sail racing. A championship sailor himself, having won gold medals from the Star World Championships, the Star North American Championship, European Championships, South American Championships, European Championships, Western Hemisphere Championships and the Bacardi Cups, he used his success and recognition to support the introduction of new generations to participation in the sport.  As an active member and officer in the International Yacht Racing Union and International Sailing Federation (ISAF), now World Sailing, he was instrumental in establishing the US Sailing Center in Miami, and has been a generous friend to US Sailing.  Mr. Schoonmaker and his fellow ISAF members formed the World Youth Sailing Trust, which for the past 20 years has underwritten sailors from less experienced sailing nations and provided them with coaching at the ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships. Gary Jobson, NMHS Overseer and America’s Ambassador of Sailing, will present the award to Mr. Schoonmaker.

Jean Wort will receive the 2019 NMHS David A. O’Neil Sheet Anchor Award in recognition of her 26 years of service as Trustee and Secretary of the National Maritime Historical Society, advancing its mission and broadening its outreach. As a long time officer of NMHS she established a formal yearly program for the Society to maximize its outreach effectiveness. She has worked nationally and internationally to promote the organization and has represented the Society around the world. She helped establish the Education Committee and worked tirelessly to get educational programs funded. She is an integral member of the Executive Committee and her vision, effort and generosity are critical to the Society’s success.

Christopher J. Culver, NMHS trustee and vice commodore of the New York Yacht Club, will serve as chairman. George W. Carmany III, former NMHS Distinguished Service Award recipient, will serve as honorary dinner chairman. Richard du Moulin, award-winning yachtsman, will be the master of ceremonies. Video introductions of the honorees will be presented by award winning documentarian and NMHS vice chairman Richardo R. Lopes and photographer/editor Alessandro Lopes. The US Coast Guard Academy Cadet Chorale will provide the entertainment, under the direction of Dr. Robert G. Newton.

We invite your participation in this gala event.
Click here for more information on event sponsorship, and contact:

Wendy Paggiotta, Vice President • • 914-737-7878, ext. 235
Burchenal Green, President • • 914-737-7878, ext. 223