Philip J. Shapiro


Board of Trustees

Philip J. Shapiro is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Liberty Maritime Corporation (“Liberty”), a New York based ship management company.  As the President and CEO of LSG and its related companies, Mr. Shapiro heads one of the largest independent privately held US flag pure dry bulk shipping companies. The Liberty fleet has distinguished itself as an outstanding carrier of US origin overseas food aid shipments for various US government agencies, including the Departments of Agriculture, State, and Defense and private voluntary organizations over the last twenty-one years.

In 2004 Mr. Shapiro founded Liberty Global Logistics LLC (LGL), a diversification for the Liberty Group into the international roll on/roll off car and truck vehicle commercial trade.  Prior to founding Liberty Maritime Corporation in 1988, Mr. Shapiro served for eight years as Vice President and General Counsel of Apex Marine Corporation, a US tanker owner and operator.  Before joining Apex Marine, he practiced corporate and real estate law with a New York City law firm.

Mr. Shapiro currently serves as a Director on a number of corporate and charitable boards including the American Bureau of Shipping (ABS), the National Maritime Historical Society, the United Seamen’s Service and the American Maritime Congress. Mr. Shapiro is also an Associate Trustee of the North Shore – Long Island Jewish Hospital Health System, the largest health care provider on Long Island, and a member of its Executive Associate Trustee Committee.

In 1998 Mr. Shapiro was named Management Man of the Year by the Maritime Port Council of Greater New York and Vicinity. In 2001 he received the Admiral of the Ocean Sea (AOTOS) Award from the United Seamen’s Service for his distinguised service and outstanding contribution to the American shipping industry.  In 2002 he was presented with the prestigious Ellis Island Medal of Honor for his leadership of and achivements in the international shipping community.  Most recently, he received Hofstra University’s Distinguished Service Award in 2007.