Award Recipients

Award Recipient

Capt. Robert J. Lowen

Award Year: 1971

James Monroe Award/Robert G. Albion-James Monroe Award

The James Monroe Award/Robert G. Albion-James Monroe Award is awarded to maritime historians, deep-water mariners, preservationists, authors, artists, and educators. As the James Monroe Award, it was given by the South Street Seaport Museum from 1968-1972. In 1973, the Society became the awarding institution, and in 1993, the name of the award was changed to recognize the role of the late Robert Albion (1896–1983) in the development of maritime historiography.

A graduate of the United States Merchant Marine Academy, Capt. Robert J. Lowen served in World War II in the US Navy, and then worked for many years with States Marine Lines. He was elected secretary treasurer of the International Organization of Masters, Mates and Pilots in 1971; rising to the position of union president and serving until 1991. He was also vice president of the International Longshoremen’s Association. Regarding the award, Congressman Mario Biaggi, Chair of the House Subcommittee on Merchant Marine, said: “A primary advantage of our maritime industry is the outstanding quality of our officers and seamen. Captain Lowen, through his tireless efforts, has been instrumental in maintaining the high standard of maritime personnel.”