Award Recipients

David A. O’Neil

David A. O’Neil

Award Year: 2003

Founder’s Sheet Anchor Award/David A. O’Neil Sheet Anchor Award

The Founder’s Sheet Anchor Award is given to recognize extraordinary leadership in building the strength and outreach of the Society. Originally established in 1988 to honor the founders of NMHS, in 2005 the award was renamed the David A. O’Neil Sheet Anchor Award to honor the late David O’Neil (1939–2004), a dedicated Society trustee and overseer.

David Alan O’Neil served on the Executive Committee and was the National Maritime Historical Society’s Development Chair. In 2003 he received the Society’s Founder’s Sheet Anchor Award for his dedicated work and outreach to other organizations. Mr. O ‘Neil, a graduate of the US Merchant Marine Academy at King’s Point, New York, was Alumnus of the Year in 1997–98 and received the Academy’s Admiral Eugene Morin Award, Admiral McCready Award, and Honorary Doctorate of Science. In 1973 he founded Seaworthy Systems, Inc. David O ‘Neil was an active leader in many of the country’s professional maritime organizations; he served as president of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers and was awarded their Admiral Land Medal. He was honored by the American Merchant Marine Museum, where he had been Foundation Board Chairman, and the Connecticut River Museum, where he had been a trustee, and India House, where he had served as governor. —Burchenal Green (adapted); SH 109:7

Categories: NMHS Leadership