Award Recipients

Award Recipient

Jan Larson

Award Year: 1993

James Monroe Award/Robert G. Albion-James Monroe Award

The James Monroe Award/Robert G. Albion-James Monroe Award is awarded to maritime historians, deep-water mariners, preservationists, authors, artists, and educators. As the James Monroe Award, it was given by the South Street Seaport Museum from 1968-1972. In 1973, the Society became the awarding institution, and in 1993, the name of the award was changed to recognize the role of the late Robert Albion (1896–1983) in the development of maritime historiography.

Mystic Seaport Museum educator Jan Larson was honored with the NMHS James Monroe Award for her “Voyages in Learning” program, training teachers in maritime education and forging relationships between educators and the museum. The program involved an in-depth introduction to the museum, lectures, and sailing together aboard a schooner, and then in later workshops teachers were encouraged to develop lesson plans integrating the museum’s resources.

Categories: Educator