Award Recipients

photo by Jerry Soto

Kaye Williams & “HMS” Rose

Award Year: 2000, 1993

American Ship Trust Award/Karl Kortum American Ship Trust Award

The American Ship Trust Award, awarded beginning in 1968, is given for leadership in building or restoring historic ships. In 1997, the award was renamed the Karl Kortum American Ship Trust Award in honor of Karl Kortum (1917–1996), a founder of the National Maritime Historical Society and the San Francisco Maritime Museum who was instrumental in saving numerous historic vessels.

Naval Historical Foundation Distinguished Service Award

The National Maritime Historical Society has been honored to work in association with the Naval Historical Foundation, which has presented its Distinguished Service Award at the Society's National Maritime Awards Dinners in Washington, DC. The award recognizes individuals for their ongoing leadership on matters of naval history and heritage.

NMHS Distinguished Service Award

The NMHS Distinguished Service Award has been presented each year since 1993 to recognize individuals who, through their personal effort and creativity, have made outstanding contributions to the maritime field.

Categories: Ship