Award Recipients

Award Recipient

Randall F. LeBouef Jr.

Award Year: 1993

James Monroe Award/Robert G. Albion-James Monroe Award

The James Monroe Award/Robert G. Albion-James Monroe Award is awarded to maritime historians, deep-water mariners, preservationists, authors, artists, and educators. As the James Monroe Award, it was given by the South Street Seaport Museum from 1968-1972. In 1973, the Society became the awarding institution, and in 1993, the name of the award was changed to recognize the role of the late Robert Albion (1896–1983) in the development of maritime historiography.

Randall F. LeBoeuf Jr. (1897–1975)

Randall F. LeBoeuf Jr. was born in Albany, NY, in 1897. He served in World War I, and then practiced law with his father in Albany. In 1925 he became assistant attorney general for New York, in charge of legal matters involving water utility companies; in the late 1920s, as Moreland Act Commissioner, he investigated irregularities in the New York State census of 1925 as. His investigation led to the conviction of former Secretary of State Florence E. S. Knapp. He founded the law firm LeBoeuf, Lamb, Leiby, & MacRae based in New York City. Mr. LeBoeuf specialized in public utility law.