Museums, Programs, Historic Sites

RiverSpark Visitor Center

RiverSpark Visitor Center

58 Remsen Street
Cohoes, NY 12047



RiverSpark is a New York State Heritage Area. Learn how abundant water for transportation and industrial power helped propel the region to international fame during the nineteenth century. The staff at the Cohoes RiverSpark Visitors Center can help guide you to the natural, cultural, and historical attractions in the seven communities of this heritage area at the confluence of the Hudson and Mohawk Rivers.

The heritage area also marks the eastern end of the 300+ miles of Erie Canal where a series of historic locks were built to raise the barges to the height of the Mohawk River from the Hudson River. The 86 ft. Cohoes falls is the 2nd largest waterfall east of the Mississippi river.



The members of the Heritage Area are the seven municipalities and each of the three counties in which they reside: Albany, Rensselaer, and Saratoga. Each of these governments has its own website to promote tourism, special events, and the history of these communities. Links to each are available at