Alexandria, Virginia, And The Potomac River, 1895, By Patrick O’Brien

2019 National Maritime Awards Dinner at the National Press Club 2 May 2019

Art ExhibitionSilent AuctionSponsorshipPhotos are Here!

What a night! The National Maritime Historical Society and the National Coast Guard Museum Association celebrated the extraordinary maritime accomplishments of the Honorable Thomas J. Ridge, Admiral Jay L. Johnson, USN (Ret.), and Williams-Mystic: The Maritime Studies Program of Williams College and Mystic Seaport at the National Maritime Awards Dinner on Thursday, 2 May 2019 at the National Press Club in Washington, DC.


Dinner chairs Denise Krepp and VADM Al Konetzni, USN (Ret.) and founding chairman Philip Webster were joined by hundreds of guests from diverse maritime fields – shipping and yachting, museums, government and the military, Coast Guard and Navy, business leaders and boat builders, educators and artists – an eclectic group of leaders exemplifying the iconic strength of how the maritime heritage will continue to shape our country’s future.


The National Maritime Historical Society & National Coast Guard Museum Association

owe grateful thanks to our


Dominion Energy
ADM Jay L. Johnson, USN (Ret.)
Dr. J. Phillip London, CACI International Inc.
Howard Slotnick
Wynn Resorts

Reception Sponsor

J.D. Power Family, Susan Curtin

Dinner Journal Sponsor

ADM Robert J. Papp Jr., USCG (Ret.) & Linda Papp

Thank You Favor Sponsor

The Hershey Company

The Honorable Tom Ridge, first U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security and 43rd Governor of Pennsylvania, received the National Coast Guard Museum Association’s Alexander Hamilton Award for his extraordinary leadership, vision and support of the museum.  Admiral James M. Loy, USCG (Ret.), 21st Commandant of the US Coast Guard and 1999 recipient of the NMHS Distinguished Service Award, presented the award.

Admiral Jay L. Johnson, USN (Ret.), 26th Chief of Naval Operations, received the NMHS Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding career as a Naval aviator, leader, and for his decision to have an annual commemoration of the Battle of Midway. The award was presented by Admiral Jonathan W. Greenert, USN (Ret.), 30th Chief of Naval Operations and award recipient at the 2015 National Maritime Awards Dinner.

Williams-Mystic, The Maritime Studies Program of Williams College and Mystic Seaport, received the NMHS Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Maritime Education. Williams-Mystic is an exemplary interdisciplinary undergraduate program in maritime studies offering challenging opportunities for students to investigate the sea, the great frontier of the 21st century. The award was accepted by Dr. Tom Van Winkle, Executive Director, and Benjamin W. Labaree, Director Emeritus of Williams-Mystic.  Thomas B. Crowley, Chairman and CEO of Crowley Maritime Corporation, presented the award.

Gary Jobson, America’s Cup winner and America’s “Ambassador of Sailing,” was the Master of Ceremonies. Video introductions were produced by NMHS Vice Chairman Richardo R. Lopes and Voyage Digital Media. Entertainment was provided by the US Coast Guard Academy Cadet Chorale, directed by Dr. Robert G. Newton. The Combined Sea Services Color Guard presented the colors.

In addition to the annual Silent Auction offering an array of incredible collectibles, sails, resorts and more, this year’s dinner also featured an Invitational Artists Gallery, hosted by the American Society of Marine Artists and showcasing a variety of works on display and for sale.  Any unsold works are on display at the Annapolis Marine Art Gallery (110 Dock Street, Annapolis, Maryland) through the end of May 2019.