Potomac River Reverie Washington, DC In 1890, By Patrick O’Brien Post

10th National Maritime Awards Dinner – National Press Club 23 April 2020

Art Exhibition Online Registration Sponsorship Accommodations 


The National Maritime Historical Society
in association with
The National Coast Guard Museum Association
with the
Naval Historical Foundation

invite you to join us at the
10th Annual National Maritime Awards Dinner

as we honor three iconic maritime institutions:
The United States Naval Academy
The United States Merchant Marine

The Coast Guard Aviation Association

with presentations by
VADM Sean S. Buck, USN • Dave Yoho • Gary Jobson • RADM Mark H. Buzby, USN (Ret.)
CAPT Michael D. Emerson, USCG • ADM James M. Loy, USCG (Ret.)

entertainment by
Voyage Digital Media & Richardo R. Lopes
The US Naval Academy Riveters 

and featuring the
American Society of Marine Artists Invitational Art Gallery

Thursday, 23 April 2020
Reception at 6:00 PM • Dinner at 7:00 PM

at the
National Press Club
529 14th St NW • Washington, DC 20045
Business/Cocktail Attire

We owe grateful thanks to our

VADM Al Konetzni, USN (Ret.)
Howard Slotnick

Table Sponsors
Ronald L. Oswald
Pollin Group
William H. White

We invite your participation in this gala event!


2020 marks the 10th anniversary of the National Maritime Awards Dinner in Washington, the annual gathering of the American maritime community in the nation’s capital to celebrate our country’s maritime heritage. Dinner chairs Denise Krepp and VADM Al Konetzni, USN (Ret.) and founding chairman Philip Webster invite you to join the National Maritime Historical Society, National Coast Guard Museum Association and Naval Historical Foundation as we honor those who serve the sea—the US Naval Academy, the US Merchant Marine, and the Coast Guard Aviation Association—for their important roles in the maritime history of our nation.

This illustrious event brings together in one place those who love and serve the sea—leaders of the military sea services, maritime authors, artists, scientists, sea explorers, competitive yachtsmen, boat designers and builders, cruise operators, maritime educators, museums, philanthropists and government officials who have supported America’s maritime heritage.  For information about sponsoring this event and advertising in the dinner journal, please see the Sponsorship Packet and contact Wendy Paggiotta at

Founded on 10 October 1845, the United States Naval Academy will be celebrating its 175th anniversary educating tens of thousands of Navy and Marine Corps officers whose leadership has helped defend the nation and the world for generations. The NMHS Distinguished Service Award will be accepted by VADM Sean S. Buck, USN, Superintendent of the Academy.

The US Merchant Marine will be honored on the 245th anniversary of its founding. The merchant marine, and all those individuals and institutions who are part of it—merchant mariners, shipping and passenger lines, ship builders, veterans’ organizations, port communities, suppliers from tugboats to shipyards, the national and state merchant marine academies, labor unions, members of Congress and the United States Maritime Administration—will be collectively honored with the NMHS  Distinguished  Service Award, which will be received by Dave Yoho, who served in the merchant marine in the Pacific in World War II.  Gary Jobson will present the award, with remarks by RADM Mark H. Buzby, USN (Ret.), Administrator of the United States Maritime Administration.

The Ancient Order of The Pterodactyl, known formally as the Coast Guard Aviation Association, will receive the National Coast Guard Museum Association’s Alexander Hamilton Award on the 100th anniversary of the opening of the first Coast Guard Air Station at Morehead City, NC. The Coast Guard Aviation Association focuses on the recognition of individuals and aircrews who distinguish themselves in the performance of operational missions and critical support. The organization is committed to the preservation of Coast Guard Aviation history from its earliest period to present day. In times of urgent need, the Coast Guard Aviation Association supports families affected by losses on flight operations. CAPT Michael D. Emerson, USCG, President of the Coast Guard Aviation Association, will accept the award. ADM James M. Loy, USCG (Ret.), 21st Commandant of the US Coast Guard and 1999 recipient of the National Maritime Historical Society’s Distinguished Service Award, will present the award.

Gary Jobson, America’s Cup winner and America’s “Ambassador of Sailing,” will serve as the evening’s Master of Ceremonies. Video introductions will be presented by NMHS Vice Chairman Richardo R. Lopes and Voyage Digital Media. Entertainment will be provided by the exceptional singers from the US Naval Academy Riveters.  The Combined Sea Services Color Guard will present the colors.

In addition to the annual Silent Auction offering an array of incredible collectibles, sails, resorts and more, this year’s dinner will again feature the American Society of Marine Artists Invitational Art Gallery hosted by world-acclaimed marine artist Patrick O’Brien.  This is an exhibition of mostly small paintings, offering guests a chance to meet the artists, see their paintings, and perhaps purchase a favorite to take home.

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Hilton Garden Inn (815 14th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20005) from 22-25 April at the special rate of $269/night, plus applicable taxes.  Rooms will be available until 25 March 2020 or when the block is full.   Reserve your room online, or call the Hilton reservations number at (202) 783-7800 and provide the group code “NAT.”

Register online for the dinner, call (914) 737-7878, ext. 0, or email if you would like to attend.  The awards dinners tend to sell out quickly, so we recommend reserving your place early.  Tickets are priced from $300.  ($150 of each ticket is the tax deductible portion.)  The National Maritime Historical Society and the National Coast Guard Museum Association are seeking dinner sponsorships from corporations, associations, foundations and individuals who wish to support the work of the American maritime community and to honor the 2020 award recipients.  Sponsorship opportunities from $1,000 to $50,000 are available.

For more information on sponsorship and advertising in the dinner journal, please see the Sponsorship Packet and contact vice president Wendy Paggiotta at (914) 737-7878, ext. 235 or via email at  The materials deadline for the Dinner Journal is 20 March 2020.

We look forward to seeing you in Washington!