NMAD 2022 Post

2022 National Maritime Awards Dinner – Washington – 27 April 2022

 Invitation PDF >>
Art Gallery >>
Silent Auction >>


The National Maritime Historical Society
invites you to celebrate the
11th Annual National Maritime Awards

as we honor three esteemed award recipients
Lonnie G. Bunch III
Kristen L. Greenaway
Dr. David F. Winkler

with presentations by
Gary Jobson, Master of Ceremonies
CAPT James A. Noone, USN (Ret.)
Samuel Byers

Amy Lent
Dr. Timothy J. Runyan
Drew Forster
VADM Sean Buck, USN
Dr. Paul Gardullo
Laura Lott

entertainment by
Voyage Digital Media & Richardo R. Lopes
The United States Coast Guard Academy Cadet Chorale

and featuring the
NMHS Invitational Art Gallery
hosted by Patrick O’Brien

at the
National Press Club
 529 14th St NW, Washington, DC

Wednesday, 27 April 2022
Reception at 6 PM • Dinner at 7 PM

Dinner chairs Amy Lent and Samuel Byers, founding dinner chairman Philip J. Webster and NMHS chairman CAPT James A. Noone, USN (Ret.), invite you to join the National Maritime Historical Society as we honor three esteemed recipients with the NMHS Distinguished Service Award: Lonnie G. Bunch III, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution; Kristen L. Greenaway, President and CEO of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum; and Dr. David F. Winkler, Historian at the Naval Historical Foundation.

Lonnie G. Bunch III, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, will be recognized with the NMHS Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding contributions to the public understanding of the maritime experience of enslaved Africans taken to America and the subsequent relationship of African Americans with the sea. As Secretary of the Smithsonian, Mr. Bunch oversees 21 museums, 21 libraries, the National Zoo, and numerous research centers. Previously, he served as the founding director of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, DC. Bunch transformed a vision into a bold reality, and the museum opened to the public in September 2016 as the 19th museum of the Smithsonian Institution in service to the historical and cultural community. Dr. Paul Gardullo, Director, Center for the Study of Global Slavery and Supervisory Museum Curator, National Museum of African American History & Culture, Smithsonian Institution will present the award.

Kristen L. Greenaway, CEO of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, will be recognized with the NMHS Distinguished Service Award for her remarkable contributions to the maritime museum community, not only as a transformative CEO and president of Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum but also for her global initiatives that have enriched maritime museums internationally. She has stressed the importance of museums taking a leadership role to better serve their communities and conservation efforts necessary to save the world’s oceans and waterways. Her global approach to museum direction is made stronger by her international background, and her leadership on the board of the International Congress of Maritime Museums has brought new energy and fresh ideas to American maritime museums. Laura Lott, President and CEO of the American Alliance of Museums, will present the award.


Dr. David F. Winkler, Historian at the Naval Historical Foundation, will be recognized with the NMHS Distinguished Service Award for his extraordinary contributions to the maritime and naval history field and his efforts to bring the maritime heritage community together to form alliances, share ideas, and inspire new initiatives. Dr. Winkler has selflessly organized numerous National Maritime Alliance and North American Society for Oceanic History conferences and has worked to promote a better understanding of America’s naval history. He is an ambassador for naval history to many organizations and an internationally respected author and teacher. VADM Sean Buck, USN, Superintendent of the US Naval Academy, will present the award.

Distinguished yachtsman, television commentator, and past president of US Sailing and the National Sailing Hall of Fame, Gary Jobson will be master of ceremonies. Recipients will be featured in videos produced by award-winning documentarian Richardo Lopes and Voyage Digital Media. The NMHS Invitational Art Gallery, hosted by acclaimed marine artist Patrick OBrien, will showcase a variety of contemporary art. The United States Coast Guard Academy Cadet Chorale will perform.

The National Maritime Historical Society requests that corporations, associations, foundations, and individuals who wish to support the work of the American maritime community help us underwrite this event.  To register, please contact NMHS vice president Wendy Paggiotta at 914-737-7878 ext. 557 or via email at Note that all guests of the National Press Club must be fully vaccinated upon entry.

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Washington from 26–28 April 2022 at the rate of $269/night, plus applicable taxes. Parking is an additional $47/day.  To make your hotel reservation by the 25 March deadline, please click on this booking link or call (888) 728-3027 and use the group code “NMS.”

With great thanks to our sponsors

Ronald L. Oswald

William H. White

Dinner Journal Underwriter
Admiral Robert J. Papp Jr., USCG (Ret.) and Linda Papp

Bank of America
VADM Al Konetzni, USN (Ret.)
McAllister Towing and Transportation
CAPT James A. Noone, USN (Ret.)
Dr. Timothy and Laurie Runyan
H.C. Bowen Smith

Table Hosts
The Byers Foundation
Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum Governors
VADM Dirk Debbink, USN (Ret.)
Philip and Irmy Webster

With special thanks to the
2022 National Maritime Awards Committee

Amy Lent and Samuel Byers, Committee Co-Chairs
Philip J. Webster, Founding Chair

Charles B. Anderson  ∙  Capt.  Jonathan Boulware  ∙  John Brady  ∙  Walter R. Brown  ∙  Dr. Robert Browning  ∙  CAPT Patrick C. Burns, USN (Ret.)  ∙  RADM Joseph F. Callo, USN (Ret.)  ∙  CAPT Sally Callo, USN (Ret.) ∙ Gerald Cooper  ∙  James Seay Dean  ∙  VADM Dirk J. Debbink, USNR (Ret.)  ∙ Donna Dudley  ∙  Dr. William Dudley  ∙  Paul Fontenoy  ∙  David S. Fowler  ∙  Sara Fuentes  ∙  Rilla Gaither  ∙  Burchenal Green  ∙  Jay Haigler  ∙  Karen Helmerson  ∙  Howard H. Hoege III  ∙  Gary Jobson  ∙  Dr. Paul F. Johnston  ∙  VADM Al Konetzni, USN (Ret.)  ∙  Denise R. Krepp  ∙  Richardo R. Lopes  ∙  Jessica MacFarlane  ∙  Guy E.C. Maitland  ∙  RADM Edward “Sonny” Masso, USN (Ret.)  ∙  James Mathieu  ∙  Capt. Jeffrey McAllister  ∙  Elizabeth McCarthy  ∙  Drew McMullen  ∙ James McNamara ∙ Dr. Salvatore Mercogliano  ∙  Kathy J. Metcalf  ∙  Capt.  Eric Nielsen  ∙  CAPT James A. Noone, USN (Ret.)  ∙  Patrick O’Brien  ∙  Ronald L. Oswald  ∙  Wendy Paggiotta  ∙  ADM Robert J. Papp, USCG (Ret.)  ∙  Christopher Rowsom  ∙  Dr. Timothy J. Runyan  ∙  Kamau Sadiki  ∙  Kristen Sarri  ∙  Richard Scarano  ∙  Peter Seibert  ∙  Philip Shapiro  ∙   Ryan Simon ∙ H.C. Bowen Smith ∙ Dr. Joshua Smith  ∙  Irmy Webster  ∙  William H. White  ∙  Jean Wort